Disney Live-Action: the epidemic

No animated Disney film will be left untouched by the live-action adaptation epidemic. Within the next year, people will have a difficult time trying to think of an animated Disney film that has not been adapted. The most recent victim has been The Sword in the Stone, based on the 1963 film.

disney generic
The live-action adaptation epidemic is quickly spreading through the kingdom. What to do?

In the early days of the epidemic, (circa March 2015) it seemed the majority of victims were Disney Renaissance films such as Beauty and the Beast and Mulan. Then it seemed no one was safe: Dumbo, The Jungle Book, Night on Bald Mountain, Winnie the Pooh, and Pinocchio soon followed. It’s just too much.

A key breaking point occurred last week when Genies was announced, a live-action prequel to Aladdin. That was enough. The most bothersome outcome of this is the effect it will have on the generation of young kids. Their first impression of Disney’s classic and beloved tales will not be the original, timeless animated versions, but most likely the live-action remakes. They might only be aware of the live-action films.

So here and now, I will predict which films will next fall to the epidemic: Hercules and The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

It seems there are a few Disney films that will not be touched: those which have animal protagonists. Try to image a live-action Lion King. It would contain realistic CG-animated, talking felines with a real African savanna background. Imagine a CG Timon and Pumba: eww. In all honesty, it would be a visual and emotional disaster. Or: does anyone want to see CG lamas? Kuzco is waiting.

The only thing that can stop this plague is if the films underperform at the box office. So, all you in the general public, if you want to stop this madness, do not pay money to see these movies. That will show Disney what we think of all this stupidity.

6 thoughts on “Disney Live-Action: the epidemic

  1. I think the live action films Disney’s put out so far have luckily been pretty decent. By no means the company’s best work, but they didn’t make me cringe either. But I agree that each time I hear about yet another classic film being scheduled for this, I can’t help but groan and role my eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am not a fan of the live action trend but if I had to pick one to do Sword in the Stone would be near the top of my list. I dont think the original is that great so I think another stab at King Arthur could be good. I also think the Genies idea has potential. I hated Maleficent and Alice in Wonderland but loved Cinderella so I guess it just depends.

    Like

  3. I also think Hunchback would be much better in live action but again not a big fan of original. So what I need to do is give Disney my rankings and they can only do updates on those films ;). But I think the ones with mostly humans make the most sense. Like Winnie the Pooh and Dumbo I don’t get? Live action Tarzan would be high for me also partly because that’s been done so many times like Cinderella so I’m not as tied to Disney version

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

