What Does It All Mean and Why It Matters

The Animation Curation began as an overview of animation news and trends. Over time, my blog transformed from a news site to a review/analysis/reflection site. Essentially, I discovered my blogging style.

But what does it all mean and why does it matter? Why am I telling you all this?

Well: Every once in a while, I believe it is important to write about what we write about and why we write about it. Without doing this, the sense of purpose regarding why we write might fade. It’s important to remind oneself of the context of our our ideas and the inception of the big idea (in this case, The Animation Curation). Think of it as a reflection necessary to improve a craft.

reflection
One of Google Image’s quite literal search results for “reflection.” Is this a subtle reference to an Arcade Fire song?

So readers, this is going to be a different type of post. No Disney dissections or 80’s OVA anime analyses. It’s time for my memories. 

Going through some of my old posts, I felt like I was reading something written by a different person. And in truth, I was. That person was three years younger and three years less aware of where he would be in life and in his writings. This blog began as a news aggregation site for a college assignment. When I proposed the initial project to my professor, I remember him reluctantly telling me: “You can do it, but good luck finding consistent animation news.” I realized my blog would go beyond one semester when I found myself writing four times the amount of posts required for my assignment.

After the semester ended, The Animation Curation was liberated. No longer did I have to follow the guidelines of what I could and couldn’t write. I could now include personal opinions and analyses in my posts! The freedom! (If you’re reading this Professor, do not take this the wrong way. I loved your class. And you are responsible for my blog).

That summer, I made it a mission to produce six blog posts a week. Some days I pushed myself to write a relatively basic post just to stay on schedule, while in the meantime I was placing my actual focus on writing my in-depth reviews, ranking lists, or interviews.

That August, I vacationed to Disney World for 20 days. I knew I wouldn’t have enough time to maintain my pace, so I embarked into the land of overtime. Beginning two weeks before my trip, I built a healthy back catalog in order to fulfill my self-imposed quota.

jiro
During the summer of 2015, I was in a writing storm, just like Jiro while crafting airplane designs in The Wind Rises.

Summer ended and the next college semester crept up, demanding as ever and ready to halt my blogging progress. Reality hit me: It would be impossible to continue my daily posts and get adequate sleep. So months passed and I didn’t write an Animation Curation post. A year passed. A decade passed… well it felt like a decade.

Friends and family urged me to write again. But I didn’t. Working a series of part-time jobs and living on my own for the first time (in the real world, not on a picturesque college campus), my life went into autopilot. Unfortunately, writing was part of this journey. One day, completely out of online waves to surf at my particularity uneventful job, I logged onto my blog. The first thing I saw were animation posts from other bloggers. And then I remembered why I created this blog in the first place; to share insights and unique perspectives on animated films and television series. I was being called back. So I want to take this moment to thank my fellow bloggers for motivating me to return to my passion.

Since my return last Fall, my focus has been on anime analysis. It is a pleasure writing about Satoshi Kon’s and Miyazaki’s films, as well as more off-beat works such as “Starlight Angel.” Moving forward, I’m excited to visit older OVA’s (original video animation) and less-commonly discussed pieces. And maybe I’d find some inspiration to dive deeper into Disney. If an idea worth writing about starts beating up my brain, begging to be released, I will certainly write about it. For example, after watching the 9 minute “Starlight Angel” anime short, my thoughts wouldn’t shut up about what I saw. So I released that explosion onto my blog.

There’s always something new to write about; there’s always a new perspective to consider. This goes for any topic: animation, automation, animals; whatever. And I’m not just talking about concepts and things that begin with the letter A. I’m talking the entire alphabet. Every… single… letter.

Leave a Reply

